We use cookies

By continuing to browse ihf.info, you agree to our terms of use , privacy policy and the use of cookies. For more information, please review our cookie policy.

2019 Men’s World Championship 2019 Men’s World Championship
Join the predictin game


Date: 2/28/2018

Australia qualified for the 2018 IHF Beach Handball World Championship, in both the men’s and women’s categories, with victories at the Oceania Beach Handball Championship in South Australia over the weekend. The qualification matches were held as part of the Australian Beach Handball Open Club Championship, which took place in Glenelg from February 22 to 25.


The men’s qualification place was decided with a play-off between Australia and New Zealand, with Australia winning both matches 2:0. In the women’s competition, Australia defeated both New Zealand and American Samoa 2:0, while American Samoa beat New Zealand 2:1 to finish second.


American Samoa were represented by their Under 18 team, who attended the event in Australia as part of their preparation for the 2018 Youth Olympic Games in Buenos Aires in October.


“We've really enjoyed the opportunity to play teams of a high level and are excited to see the girls’ growth. To win the silver has been good for confidence as preparation for our Youth Olympic Games campaign,” said President of the American Samoa Handball Federation Carl J. Sagapolutele Floor Sr . “I want to thank Handball SA and Handball Australia for their hospitality and support, and welcoming us to the Australian handball family.”


Three trophies decided in Open Club Championship


Qualification for the Beach Handball World Championship took place as part of the Australian Beach Handball Open Club Championship, which featured three competitions: mixed, men’s and women’s. The mixed competition was won by the Galahs, a squad comprised of players from both Queensland and New Zealand, while the Bluebottles placed second, and Made in France, again with a combination of players from Victoria and New South Wales, ranked third.


All three awards in the competition went to players from the Galahs, with Ryan Roselli finishing as top scorer with 110 points, Tara van der Post voted best goalkeeper, and Aminta Thomas selected as MVP.


The Bluebottles from NSW won the women’s competition, while the Galahs placed second and the Parrot Shawtys from NZ finished third. Allira Hudson-Gofers was top scorer with 95 points for the Bluebottles, while two players from the fifth-ranked Beachsters (VIC) squad took the other awards – Birte Josephine Biehler was voted MVP and Manon Vernay was selected as best goalkeeper.


The men’s competition was won by NZ side, the Wellington Parrots, who claimed the trophy ahead of the Melbourne Knicks and the East Melbourne Spartans, both from Victoria. The Wellington Parrots’ Nicholas Shields contributed 125 points to finish as top scorer – a performance that also earned him the MVP award. Jim Brennan from the East Melbourne Spartans was voted best goalkeeper.


Photo: Jun Tanlayco, Steve Williams