We use cookies

By continuing to browse ihf.info, you agree to our terms of use , privacy policy and the use of cookies. For more information, please review our cookie policy.

2019 Men’s World Championship 2019 Men’s World Championship
Join the predictin game


Date: 4/4/2019

Macedonian club HC Vardar claimed their third straight SEHA – Gazprom League title on Wednesday night, closing an exciting Final 4 event in Brest, Belarus. Just like last season, Vardar defeated Croatian team HC PPD Zagreb in the final, while local side Meshkov Brest claimed the bronze medal ahead of Final 4 debutants RK Nexe.


In the final on Wednesday evening, Vardar recorded a result of 26:23 in their favour – almost identical to last season’s trophy match, when the Macedonian team won 26:24. Overall, it is Vardar’s fifth SEHA title, after they took the trophies in the 2011/12, 2013/14, 2016/17 and 2017/18 seasons. It is the second time Zagreb have finished as runners-up, though their best result was when they topped the podium in 2012/13.


Vardar reached the trophy game after beating Brest 25:23 in the semi-final. Zagreb defeated fellow Croatian side Nexe 28:23 in their semi-final clash. Brest went on to secure the bronze medal with a 24:19 result against Nexe.


Following voting by media at the end of the event, the SEHA – Gazprom League Final 4 All-star Team was announced:


Goalkeeper: Dejan Milosavljev (Vardar)
Left wing: Timur Dibirov (Vardar)
Left back: Damir Bicanic (PPD Zagreb)
Centre back: Sandro Obranovic (Meshkov Brest) 
Right back: Dainis Kristopans (Vardar)
Right wing: Zlatko Horvat (PPD Zagreb)
Pivot: Stojanche Stoilov (Vardar)

Best defender: Pavel Horak (Meshkov Brest)
MVP: Dainis Kristopans (Vardar)


The top scorer at the end of the season is Vojvodina’s Milos Grozdanic, with 102 goals. Though Grozdanic’s team did not play the Final 4, he tallied well above his rivals for the title and was therefore in little danger of losing the top scorer crown despite his absence from the finals.


More information on the SEHA – Gazprom League can be found on the official website.


Photo: Stanko Gruden / kolektiffimages