We use cookies

By continuing to browse ihf.info, you agree to our terms of use , privacy policy and the use of cookies. For more information, please review our cookie policy.

2019 Men’s World Championship 2019 Men’s World Championship
Join the predictin game


Date: 10/20/2015

The final tournament of the IHF Trophy Inter Continental Phase is about to start in Gabrovo, Bulgaria. As of tomorrow, five Continental Winners in men’s and women’s categories will compete to win the biggest tournament of the 2014/2015 competition cycle. 118 teams in the men’s and 114 teams in the women’s competition have played in different stages of the IHF Trophy and the decision about the InterContinental winner has come down to the best five.


In the women’s  competition, hosts and organizers Bulgaria will defend the title they have won in Monterrey, Mexico two years ago where they participated in the InterContinental Phase for the first time. In Monterrey, the Bulgarian team had a clean sweep winning all of their games and it will be a big challenge for them to prove they are the best once again on home court against strong opponents. Uzbekistan, the Asian Continental Phase winner, will be one of them as they qualified for the InterContinental Phase for the first time, losing against Thailand in the continental final of the previous edition. But Uzbekistan will not be the only rookies in the competition. The national teams of Senegal and New Zealand will also represent their continents in the InterContinental Phase for the first time, while Guadeloupe is not only for the first time in the InterContinental Phase but it is the first time they participate in the IHF Trophy as well. What an achievement for the Caribbean team!


The men’s competition will see European winners Faroe Islands as favourites, as the nation in the Atlantic already claimed the Emerging Nations Championship title in Kosovo. However, the other teams will fancy their chances as well. Uzbekistan, having finished fourth in Monterrey two years ago, will seek to improve that achievement, while Colombia, a debutant in this phase will also have something to say in the competition after defeating favourites Venezuela and Canada in the Zonal and Continental Phase. The list of debutants in Gabrovo is closed by two island nations – Cabo Verde from Africa, surprise winners of the Continental Phase defeating reigning champions Nigeria in the final and IHF Trophy debutant Tahiti dethroning traditional Oceania giants Australia.


Both tournaments will be played on a round robin basis, the winner being the best teams after the round has been played. The final match day is scheduled for Sunday 25 October, while the opening ceremony will be on 21 October at 19:00.


The full match schedule as well as an info brochure for the competition can be found on the following link: