We use cookies

By continuing to browse ihf.info, you agree to our terms of use , privacy policy and the use of cookies. For more information, please review our cookie policy.



Date: 6/25/2018

The 2018 Pan American Men’s Championship ended with Argentina making their way back to the top of the podium, taking their seventh title in history, after defeating traditional rivals Brazil in the final. At the previous edition of the continental championship, two years ago in Buenos Aires, Argentina finished outside the top two places for the first time since 1996 – but this year, they left no doubt they deserved the trophy with a dominant victory in the final.


Argentina and Brazil both qualified for the final after proceeding through the preliminary round unbeaten, then taking clear wins in their respective semi-finals. Brazil beat Chile 32:24 in the first semi-final on Saturday, while Argentina defeated Greenland 39:17. In the final, Argentina were completely in control, leading 13:8 at half-time and reaching an advantage as decisive as 10 goals before the final score of 29:24 in their favour.


“After yesterday's game, it was very difficult to imagine playing as we did in the final against Brazil, dominating from start to finish. We are very happy,” said Argentina coach Manolo Cadenas.


In the 3/4 play-off, there was more than a bronze medal at stake, as the top three teams at the Pan American Championship would also take the continent’s three places at the 26th IHF Men’s World Championship in Germany and Denmark in January. It took extra time for Chile to defeat hosts Greenland, with a result of 39:36.


It was Greenland’s best result at the Pan American Championship since 2006, when they ranked third. Chile have claimed the bronze medal every year apart from one since 2010 – in 2016, they made it to the final and finished as runners-up.


All four of the top-ranked teams also celebrated outstanding individual performances, with Argentina centre back Pablo Simonet and left wing Federico Fernandez named as the best in their positions. Other members of the All-star Team included Greenland goalkeeper Isak Olsen, Chile line player Esteban Salinas, and three players from Brazil: right wing Fabio Chiuffa, right back Jose Toledo and left back Thiagus Petrus dos Santos.  


The seventh title for Argentina places them just one behind Cuba in the all-time standings at the Pan American Men’s Championship. Cuba have won the trophy eight times, while Brazil are third in this ranking, with three continental titles.




1 - Argentina

2 - Brazil

3 - Chile

4 - Greenland

5 - Canada

6 - Uruguay

7 - Puerto Rico

8 - Guatemala

9 - Colombia

10 - Peru

11 - Paraguay

Photo: Dida G. Heilmann / GHF