We use cookies

By continuing to browse ihf.info, you agree to our terms of use , privacy policy and the use of cookies. For more information, please review our cookie policy.



Date: 8/13/2010

Sweden - Norway 34:29 (17:10)

Sweden is Women's Youth World Champion. After Denmark in 2006 and Russia in 2008, the Scandinavians have now become new champions. In the Scandinavian final match against Norway, the Swedish team clearly prevailed and won 34:29.
After a balanced beginning in which the Norwegians were able to keep up to 3:3, the Swedes began to extend their lead steadily from 6:3 to 9:4.  For a long time the Norwegians lacked the means to break through the strong Swedish defense and repeatedly ran into counterattacks. Only in a short sequence the Norwegians were able to achieve a more open match. At half-time Sweden led 17:10 which was well deserved.
At the beginning of the second half, the Swedish team achieved a 20:10 lead (33rd). Their tactic was always the same: Sweden provoked mistakes of the Norwegians and in return started their fastbreaks. Even when the Norwegian women caught up (14:21 and 19:24), Sweden always had the right answer. In the middle of the second half the Norwegians hoped to turn the match around, but the Swedish goalkeeper Ame Ogbomo saved the five-goal lead thanks to some great parades. Afterwards the match was decided and the young Swedish women celebrated their World Championship victory. Best scorers were L. Larsson of the Swedish team (eleven goals) and C. Rasmussen of the Norwegian team (seven goals).

All-Star Team

Goalkeeper: Fanny Chattelet (France)
Left Wing: Sheila Segura (Spain)
Left Back: Lara Gonzales (Spain)
Center Back: Marie Henriksen (Norway)
Right Back: Louise Burgaard (Denmark)
Right Wing: Linn Larsson (Sweden)
Pivot: Kathrine Heindahl (Denmark)

MVP: Carin Stromberg (Sweden)

Top Scorer: Lois Abbingh (Netherlands) - 56 goals