We use cookies

By continuing to browse ihf.info, you agree to our terms of use , privacy policy and the use of cookies. For more information, please review our cookie policy.



Date: 2/4/2007

The XX Men's World Championship ended presenting a dignified champion. Host Germany prevailed against Poland soaring to a 29:24 (17:13) victory following a thrilling final in front of 19,000 spectators at sold-out Kölnarena to gain the title for the third time after 1938 and 1978. "I am tremendously proud", German head coach Heiner Brand said and added "proud of these fans and proud of this team."

 Already prior to the final, the high-ranked representatives as of the World Association (IHF) as of the German federation (DHB) had reported the positive course and outcome of the XX title contests. "We are very satisfied with the organisation and the course of the tournament", IHF President Dr Hassan Moustafa explained.

 In the match for third place, Denmark had overcome France in the early afternoon 34:27 (21:15) to be third team to climb the rostrum. European champions France came off fourth.

The following players were elected to the All-Star Team

Henning Fritz, goalkeeper
Eduard Koksharov, left wing
Michael Knudsen, pivot
Mariusz Jurasik, right wing
Nikola Karabatic, left back
Michael Kraus, centre back
Marcin Lijewski, right back