We use cookies

By continuing to browse ihf.info, you agree to our terms of use , privacy policy and the use of cookies. For more information, please review our cookie policy.



Date: 6/30/2014

For the third straight time Argentina took the title at the Pan-American Men’s Championship. In Montevideo, Uruguay, they beat their rivals Brazil in a clear way by 30:19. Chile, led by All Star Team line player Marco Oneto and top scorer Rodrigo Salinas (12 goals), secured the final ticket to Doha in a thrilling bronze final against host Uruguay.

By reaching the final, Argentina and Brazil had already clinched the berth for the World Championship in Doha (15 January to 1 February 2015) on Saturday.

The draw event for the World Championship will be conducted in Doha on Sunday, 20 July. Representatives of all participating teams and a long list of guests of honour will attend this draw event.

The bronze final for the last Pan-American spot for Doha was a pure thriller. After an equal first half (13:13), host Uruguay forged ahead to 21:18 and 23:20 in minute 51 and seemed to be on the winners’ way. But a Chilean time-out changed everything: In the last minute of the match they managed to equalize at 24:24, and right with the final whistle Felipe Barrientos made the Chilean dream of their third participation at a World Championship come true by scoring the winners’ strike for 25:24. Best Uruguayan scorer in the bronze final was Alejandro Velazco by eight strikes.

In an unexpected clear way Argentina defended their title later. After the defeat against Brazil at the South American Games in April one could expect a close and tight final, but led by outstanding Diego Simonet (eleven goals) and Federico Fernandez (9 goals) the “Gauchos” dominated the final from the first to the last minute. After a quite close 15:12 halftime lead, Argentina overran their opponents after the break for finally secure a clear 30:19 win. Best Brazilian scorer was Fernando Pacheco with six goals. So Argentina took the Pan-American title hat-trick after becoming continental champions in 2010 and 2012.

Result summary of the Pan-American championship in Montevideo, Uruguay:

Semi-finals: Brazil - Chile 36:28, Argentina - Uruguay 30:16

Bronze final: Chile - Uruguay 25:24, Final: Argentina - Brazil 30:19

Placement matches:

5/6: Greenland - USA 43:32, 7/8: Mexico - Guatemala 37:16

Final ranking:

GOLD: Argentina, SILVER: Brazil, BRONZE: Chile*

4. Uruguay, 5. Greenland, 6. USA, 7. Mexico, 8. Guatemala

*those teams have qualified for the 2015 Men’s World Championship in Qatar

All Star Team of the Pan-American championship:

Goalkeeper: Maik Santos (BRA) 
Left wing: Alejandro Velazco (URU) 
Left back: Akutaneek Kreutzmann (GRL) 
Center back: Diego Simonet (ARG) 
Right back: Rodrigo Salinas (CHI) 
Right wing: Federico Pizarro (ARG) 
Line player: Marco Oneto (CHI) 


Top scorers:

1. Akutaanek Kreutzmann (GRL) 43 goals

2. Rodrigo Salinas (CHI) 40 goals

3. Adam Elzoghby (USA) 34 goals

4. Wesley Freitas (BRA) 29 goals

5. Federico Pizarro (ARG) 26 goals

Those teams have already qualified for the Qatar 2015 World Championship:

Qatar (organizer)

Spain (defending World Champions)

Pan-America: Argentina, Brazil, Chile

Asia: Bahrain, Iran, United Arabic Emirates

Africa: Algeria, Tunisia, Egypt

Europe: France, Denmark, Croatia, Poland, Belarus, Austria, Czech Republic, Slovenia, Russia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, FYR Macedonia, Sweden